All Collections
Self-service billing
Manage Billing users and update your billing e-mail address
Manage Billing users and update your billing e-mail address

How to create and delete billing users, and assign the primary billing user role.

Updated over a week ago

Important to know:

  • All billing users will receive a copy of the SiteMinder invoice in PDF format.

  • To manage billing users, go to your property name > Billing > Billing users tab.

  • The first billing user(s) and primary billing user are created during your onboarding process with SiteMinder based on the information provided by you.

  • Any billing user can create and delete other billing users, plus assign the primary billing user role via the Billing users tab.

  • Billing users cannot be edited. If you need to update their details, create a new billing user with the updated details and delete the old one.

  • A primary billing user cannot be deleted. If you need to delete a primary billing user, first assign the role of the primary billing user to a different billing user; then, you can proceed to delete the former primary billing user.

About billing users

Billing users can access the self-service Billing portal, where they are able to:

  • pay SiteMinder invoices;

  • enable automatic payments;

  • view and update payment details;

  • download invoices and adjustments;

  • create other billing users;

  • assign the primary billing user role to their user or other users.

All billing users receive billing notifications and e-mails with SiteMinder invoices attached as PDF files.

While there can be multiple billing users, there can only be one primary billing user; that’s why the primary billing user cannot be deleted without first assigning the role to a different billing user. The primary billing user is the only billing user who will receive payment receipts.

Billing users can simply have access to your Billing portal, but they can also access your SiteMinder platform if linked to one of your General or Admin users.

Add a billing user

Adding a billing user provides a user account access to your Billing portal. All billing users are able to create other billing users. To add a billing user, you can:

  • use a SiteMinder user account with General or Admin user permissions;

  • create a new billing user — if they do not require access to any other areas of your SiteMinder platform.

To add a billing user, follow the steps below:

  1. Click on your property name > select Billing.

  2. On the Billing users page, click on Add billing user.

  1. Depending on the type of billing user you want to create, select between Existing (a list of your SiteMinder platform user accounts without billing access will be displayed, tick one or more user accounts from the list) or New (enter the new billing user’s details)

  2. Click on Add. A notification e-mail will be sent to the added user.

Assign a primary billing user

Before assigning the primary billing user role, you must first add a billing user (as explained in the section above).

To change the primary billing user for your property, follow the steps below:

  1. Click on your property name > select Billing.

  1. Click on the Billing users tab.

  2. On the Billing users page, find the billing user you want to assign as primary billing user and click on the edit button (pencil icon).

  3. On the Actions drop-down menu, select Assign role of primary billing user.

  4. On the confirmation message, click on Assign. From now on, that billing user will be the primary billing user.

Delete a billing user

To delete a billing user and revoke their access to your Billing portal, follow the steps below:

  1. Click on your property name > select Billing.

  2. On the Billing users page, find the billing user you want to delete and click on its edit button (pencil icon).

  3. On the Actions drop-down menu, select Remove.

  1. On the confirmation message, click on Remove.

Did this answer your question?